Make your own free website on
Home | Webmasters Comments | Geography | Churches | Native Americans | Resorts, Hotels & Mansions | Racing in The Glen | Schools: Past & Present | Events | Local Business | In Memory... | Contact Us | Towns and Villages
Schuyler County History

formula 1

1961 was the inaugural year for Formula 1 at Watkins Glen International.  Finally, Cameron Argetsinger’s dream of holding a world renowned, international event at Watkins Glen had come true.  Scotland’s Innes Ireland and team Lotus took that first checkered flag at the Glen.  After a small profit was made, the race settled into its fall date which still remains a tradition here in Watkins Glen.  Jim Clark won the race’s second coming in 1962.  Graham Hill won from 1963-’66, which was followed by another win by Jim Clark in 1967.  In 1968 the United States Grand Prix at Watkins Glen was won by Jackie Stewart, and in 1969 it was won by Jochen Rindt who was never able to defend his title at the track because he was killed the next season at Monza Raceway.  Emerson Fittipaldi won in 1970, and the ’71—’72 races were won by Tyrrell with Francois Cevert and Jackie Stewart driving respectively.  1973 saw the race’s first fatality when Cevert was killed during practice. Tyrrell withdrew their remaining car and Jackie Stewart would never race again.  Alan Jones' victory in the 1980 United States Grand Prix at Watkins Glen marked the close of an era.

~Copyright 2005 BT Web Designs~